Books, Publishing, and the Creative Life

Why We Fish

WWF_FrontCvrAuthor Robert Montgomery just alerted me to a new review on Amazon.com for his book Why We Fish: Reel Wisdom from Real Fishermen.  It’s heartwarming when a book we published (and I edited) touches someone in a meaningful way.  That’s why I’m sharing this review.

5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable read that could change our world! March 2, 2014 by Blake Muhlenbruck

My eyes are a blur as I write this review, stinging from the countless hours of nonstop memories that flooded my brain at 4:00am. Why We Fish solidified why I fish, from the beginning of my outdoor life to where I am today. I could relate to each and every tidbit shared by the wonderful folks who contributed to Robert U. Montgomery’s masterpiece.

By 5:30 a.m. my wife asked me if the red of my eyes was purely from sleep deprivation or if I had been crying. I said, “Me cry? No way. . . it’s natures way of removing unwanted skirt glitter from a long day of skirt designing.”

Yes, Why We Fish made me cry, along with many other emotions. Sadness for the simple things lost over the years, simply being reaffirmed by so many of the observations I have gained and shared with others, and understanding that others will never step outside of the asphalt jungle in which so many live today. Nature is no longer a priority in our lives. We have given it up for technology; the latest and greatest games. You’d think that with all this information at our fingertips we would be smarter and have a better understanding of the world and the wonderful treasures it holds.

I was brought back to first fishing trips shared with family and friends. A curtain rod, string and a hook was how I got my start. Robert lets us, his readers, immerse ourselves self in personal moments that may seem trivial to some, but are priceless for others. By 6:00am I was overcome with emotion, the smell of the ink and paper whiffed through senses and my four squares of T.P. I used for a book mark collected the dampness from my eyes.

I am blessed to have Robert as a dear friend although we have never had the pleasure of fishing together. We have had many conversations over the last seven years about not just fishing, but everything under the sun. Pretty amazing that fishing can build friendships that last a lifetime by simply getting back to our natural ways and sharing with others our observations of how wonderful our world is.

Why We Fish could by far be the most useful tool to use to help us save ourselves from ourselves. Education is the key to not repeating history; we as humans manipulate our biology while all other species work by a natural biological rhythm. Observe and learn, and you will gain wisdom.

Who knows, Why We Fish could just be the one pebble that creates a ripple that could change all of our lives. After all, Why We Fish was put together by some of the most brilliant stewards of our time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

