Books, Publishing, and the Creative Life

Indie House Books was delighted to interview Gin Getz. She’s the author of The Color of the Wild, a stunning and inspiring memoir, whose use of powerful poetry, prose, and stunning photography creates a unique, passionate, and creative voice. Stop, read, and learn a bit more about this great indie author.

What have you written before your latest project?memoir

I’m one of those who always had to write–poetry, journals, old fashioned letters, short stories. Most of them I burned; the rest hold little value to anyone but me.  Through these I solidified my commitment and attachment to writing.  It wasn’t until I started sharing my writing through blogging and magazine articles that my voice began to emerge.  By that I mean my style of writing, the way I write, the way I “talk” to my readers.  Writing became a conversation, if you will.  I live remotely yet believe strongly in reaching other people and in the responsibility we all have of doing what we can for others.  Sharing my world through my writing is the best way I can reach others.

The Color of the Wild is my first full length manuscript.  It took me many years of waking before my family and day job to complete.  Blogging helped.  Regular posting was my discipline, and the people I met – some just online, others who came here to meet me and have over time become dear friends – they were my motivation.

 Tell us about your journey in writing The Color of the Wild.  How did the mix between photography, prose, and poetry come about?

Good question.  I’m not sure how to answer this as it’s just my normal day. I’m out there working on the ranch with my camera close by hanging on a gate post “just in case,” or out hiking with a notebook and pencil ready for when the right words come to mind. I figure it’s all intertwined. The more we express ourselves in any creative means, the more we enliven the entire creative process.  Creativity is all related.

 What is the most important thing you’ve learned during your journey writing it? 

Re-writing. Editing.  And miraculously, with each time going over my writing, my work improved!  You’re always told the more you do something the better you’ll be at it. Well, I believe it’s true.

 Can you give us a description of the book?

The Color of the Wild is an intimate view of life in an untamed land, an unconventional memoir of person and place. It’s a personal account of one year, one woman, her family, and the wild mountain they call home told in a lyrical and lilting, powerful and passionate voice. 

What inspires you to write?

I’m inspired by the wild world around me.  And the wild places within us all. The magnificent beauty around me, and the deep, dark stuff inside. Writing allows me to share this and still be alone in the wild.  As for authors who have inspired me, I can stop to read Mary Oliver and Wendell Berry any day and every time hope someday someone will read my writing and feel the way their writing makes me feel.

Gin GetzWhat do you love most about writing, and what do you hate the most about it?

Writing centers, grounds, and balances me.  I like the inwardness, quietness, discipline, the reflection, and the creative process of striving to paint a picture of what I see (and feel) in words.  What do I hate?  Making the same spelling mistakes over and over again and overlooking my own typos.

 What benefits do you think indie publishing gives you? Do you feel the benefits outweigh any disadvantages?

The first great part of the growing world of indie publishing is the people you get to work with.  The people make a huge difference.  My publisher is like my family and friend. These things matter to me. I enjoy liking who I work with.  Further, I think it is absolutely amazing how many books there are available today thanks to the opportunity indie publishing presents.  Some fear this floods the market, but I don’t.  I think it shows great hope for how huge the market is, for how many readers are out there, and how many people still love books, reading and writing.

 What are your passions other than writing?

For better or for worse (I know this is debatable), I believe everything we do should be done with passion.  Writing, art, cooking, hiking, horseback riding… living.

 How did you get into photography?

The concept of learning to see, focusing, drew me in.  My first photography course was at NYU back in the 1980’s with a classic Nikon SLR, developing film and prints in the darkroom.

What are five things you’d absolutely have to have in your dream house?          

Funny you ask because we’re building it now–our new log cabin along the headwaters of the Rio Grande!  We drew up the plans ourselves based on many, many years of dreaming, moving, and dreaming some more.  Now, all those dreams get built into this one place.  Small, efficient, warm and cozy, lots of light, French doors, sky light over the bed, big bookshelves and a claw foot tub are some of those dreams we’re including.

 IHB: If there were only one thing you could tell your readers, what would it be?

Read!  Share the passion of reading and the written word!

 The Color of the Wild is available at AmazonBarnes & Noble, and through Gin Getz’s publisher NorLightsPress.

This interview was shared courtesy of Indie House Books: A Place for Readers and Writers to Call Home  http://www.indiehousebooks.com     Indie house books

 We highly recommend their website.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

