Books, Publishing, and the Creative Life

time 1Despite the No WHINING sign above my desk, sometimes I silently mourn the lack of time for my personal projects–artwork and writing.

My job as a publisher, where I constantly work on other people’s projects, takes many hours a day. And there’s yard work. I love being outdoors, but does the grass really need to grow half an inch per day? Seems like I live on a lawnmower during the summer months.

And, I donate many hours as president of the Lawrence County Art Association, furthering the cause of art in general. I donate time to our church. I spend quality time with my husband and Time 2family. Valued friendships need cultivating. I swim every chance I get, to stay healthy and sane.  The leftover time goes to my artwork and writing.

I know other people grapple with the same issues, and I’m more fortunate than most. In fact, I’m incredibly blessed. Therefore, I try viewing this frustration from a different perspective. I tell myself everything I do can be creative, from mowing grass to washing dishes. It’s all LIFE.  Everything we do influences our creative voice and the art we will eventually create.

This may not be obvious at first, but everyday issues accumulate, reach critical mass, and turn into ART.  When I mow the grass, my subconscious mind is gathering bits and pieces of information. While washing dishes, I watch birds at the feeder and feel the water on my hands. I notice how our drinking glasses gleam in the sunlight. I’m creating memories for my writing and mind-pictures for painting.

All of it becomes part of my unique vision.

There’s no such thing as a part time artist or writer. Everything we do in life counts as art!  And now, I need to go paint something. . . time 3

 

 

A great investment for writers

Sammie Justesen is a publisher and the author of Dialogue for Writers, released in May, 2014.

She is also an artist and president of the Lawrence County Art Association.

A new review of Dialogue for Writers

This book delivers. If you are a writer, you’ll find a wealth of information and insight that will allow you to assess your style and discover practical ways to make good writing better.
Even popular published authors can benefit from this book. For instance, I am a Stephenie Meyer fan. She is a master of her genre, but if she had read Sammie Justesen’s book, Edward would not have”snickered” and “chuckled” so much that these particular dialogue tags became annoying and distracting. Sammie Justesen’s book offers great advice from a number of perspectives including the all-important publisher’s perspective. I have no hesitation in rating it a five-star book.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

